GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"website programming languages"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Tue 03/10/06 at 09:39
Regular
Hello, I'm a embedded C programmer (and can use Microsoft VB and VC++ when required and can even understand how something like http://chat.freeola.com/add_thread.php?forumid=4 links to the files on a server) and I'm looking at starting some website programming (about which I know nothing) for personal use and because it won't hurt my CV. Can anyone suggest which languages I ought to concentrate on and any tutorials or downloadable books suitable for someone who understands the principles of programming? I'm tempted by Java as it is so versitile but I think it may be better to work on html, php and the like to start off with. What do you think?
Thanks,
Pat
Tue 03/10/06 at 09:39
Regular
Hello, I'm a embedded C programmer (and can use Microsoft VB and VC++ when required and can even understand how something like http://chat.freeola.com/add_thread.php?forumid=4 links to the files on a server) and I'm looking at starting some website programming (about which I know nothing) for personal use and because it won't hurt my CV. Can anyone suggest which languages I ought to concentrate on and any tutorials or downloadable books suitable for someone who understands the principles of programming? I'm tempted by Java as it is so versitile but I think it may be better to work on html, php and the like to start off with. What do you think?
Thanks,
Pat
Tue 03/10/06 at 12:07
Regular
"Peace Respect Punk"
Well, you'll first want to look into some basic HTML and CSS, allowing you to actually display content to the user, and then I'd say go for PHP and maybe look into databases, such as MySQL or PostgreSQL.