GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"C / c++ does anyone know C programing"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Mon 13/01/03 at 23:47
Regular
hello to u all! do any of you know C ,if so where could i download some software for it from
Thu 16/01/03 at 12:51
Regular
"relocated"
Cool. I'll check Ruby out later, when I'm not 'working'.
Thu 16/01/03 at 01:54
Regular
"bing bang bong"
Ruby is the sexiest scripting language, see www.rubycentral.com. It's got b*****-all support in the West though.
Wed 15/01/03 at 20:36
Regular
"relocated"
Python is also a pretty good beginner's language. And you can make real programs with it too. www.python.org I think.
Wed 15/01/03 at 15:55
Regular
I recently started learning C and the book I'm using is C for Dummies which is pretty good and easy to understand. Okay I may only know very basic things but I actually understand it due to the book. Compiler I am using was recommended to me by unknown and you can find it if you search google for Dev-C++
Wed 15/01/03 at 15:24
Regular
"relocated"
You definitely want to learn something object oriented. For C++ I can't recommend Steve Heller's book 'Learning to Program in C++' highly enough. It goes beyond the syntax and teaches you what is going on underneath the language. I'd already taught myself basic C++ when I bought this book, but I only really *understood* C++ after reading it. It's suitable for complete beginners, and features dialogues between the author and a (real) student: her questions seem really stupid at first, but you come to realise that these conversations are really banging home some programming fundamentals.

Infinitely better than:

"Type in this:

#include

int main()
{
cout << "I am a programming genius" << endl;
return 0;
}

Congratulations, you are a programming genius. Now go and program Quake 4"