GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"SSL Certificates for the free website service"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Tue 02/08/16 at 10:44
Regular
Quick question: I know Freeola offers SSL certificates for VIP hosting, but does it offer them for the 'free website' thing which comes with Freeola broadband?

Thanks.
Tue 09/08/16 at 18:07
"Are you sure?"
Just read this new BBC article on the 27,000 XP PCs the Met Police have.

As I mentioned there are still LOTS out there!

[s]Hmmm...[/s]
Thu 04/08/16 at 11:03
"Are you sure?"
Thanks Eccles, that sounds promising.

I'm no expert, but where I see people moving to HTTPS I sometimes come across issues with older browsers/OS depending on how SSL has been implemented.

Things are moving on as time goes by as PCs get replaced - but there are still a number of people using older systems so it's good to be able to accommodate them where possible if you are after getting all the visitors you can to your website. But I appreciate these types of visitors are getting less and less.

I wanted to look at a Freeola supplied SSL to check things. The HTTPS site I found in the Customer Site directory fails to display on Chrome/IE8 via XP. FF is fine.

A scan shows "SNI support is needed", from what I've read this isn't supported in IE8/Chrome on XP or early Android/iOS, so the visitor gets:

IE:
Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage

Chrome:
This site can’t provide a secure connection

xxx uses an unsupported protocol.
ERR_SSL_VERSION_OR_CIPHER_MISMATCH
The client and server don't support a common SSL protocol version or cipher suite. This is likely to be caused when the server needs RC4, which is no longer considered secure.