GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"site looks awful on mobile"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Fri 25/04/14 at 14:29
Regular
I am in the process of starting a website. It is very early days but I'm generally pleased with it, apart from when I view my site on my mobile. I know there is no mobile compatibility mode here but it really looks nothing like it does on my computer. I am a novice to all this but if I looked this site up on my mobile I would quickly exit again as it looks so unprofessional. Any tips on this..please?
Thu 19/06/14 at 10:44
Regular
"WEB DESIGN / SEO"
I would agree totally with the moderator's comments. With a badly designed responsive site, I too often revert back to the desktop version when the mobile version is found lacking.

As regards WordPress, their first generation of responsive sites left a bit to be desired but most of their responsive templates nowadays are pretty good.

If you are planning to use Wordpress yourself there are some very cheap video courses and special offers available on Udemy and of course some completely free ones on YouTube.

I use the latest version of "Adobe Dreamweaver CC" myself. It is hard to beat for professional results and of course you start with a totally blank canvas, not a template. However, I would not recommend it for a beginner.

I have also heard mumblings about "Twitter Bootstrap" for responsive sites but you would have to Google that for more info. I have never properly looked into it.

CHECK AS YOU GO ...

Some further wisdom on this topic are that whichever program you use to design your responsive site, don't wait until you have spent weeks on it or worse still, completely finished it before you check to see what it looks like on an iPhone, iPad, notebook etc.