GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"What made you get connected to the 'net?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Mon 08/10/12 at 20:32
Regular
"May contain nuts"
I expect most of us couldn't imagine life without our Internet connection but what made you think 'I really need a connection to this Internet thing'

At the time I was a student and persuaded my folks to let me connect a modem to the phone line so I could e-mail myself work I was working on to my e-mail address at the sixth form college I was at so I didn't have to carry floppy disks around.

So what made you get connected?
Tue 09/10/12 at 16:11
Regular
"May contain nuts"
BT is in somewhat of a unique position as its charged with maintaining the critical infrastructure and so it can say 'give us money or we won't do this that or the other' and the government will open the public purse/wallet and say 'how much do you want'

While I'm not for one moment suggesting any improper conduct of course I somehow don't think the Rt Hon Patricia Hewitt is a non-executive director for her knowledge of exchange equipment, routers or switches! (Source: BT corporate website)
Tue 09/10/12 at 13:45
"possibly impossible"
Yep, and I'm sure Freeola wishes that it was far more open than 'open'reach currently is (I'm sure Tony would have something to say about it).

Still, I'm not holding out hope that anyone but BT (if that) will increase my internet speed any time soon and even if BT is the only option I'm not re-signing with them ever again.
Mon 08/10/12 at 23:30
Regular
"May contain nuts"
Great minds think alike pb.

I suspect things would move a lot quicker if Openreach was mutually owned by the ISPs/telcos and run as a non profit for their benefit much like the peering exchanges in London, Leeds and Manchester.