GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Problems with CHMODing on images"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Tue 01/11/11 at 22:43
Regular
"We are not alone..."
I firstly want to specify that I am not getting problems whilst using FTP uploads with Cute FTP 8 professional.

My issue seems to be related to running Joomla 1.5.XX on Freeola free account. I have been using Joomla based websites for about 3 years now and have NEVER encountered this error before may of 2010.

The installations themselves run without issue and are completely stable, however the problem becomes apparent when I install modules and plug-ins.

For example I upload a simple thumbnail gallery script that displays folders of images stored in the Joomla image/stories folder, the script simply displays whatever is in the specified folder.

Now if i install the script into ANY Joomla site that is NOT hosted on Freeola, the script works without issue and is very effective.

BUT and a BIG BUT, the script will NOT display any images including the scripts own logo because the images that are installed using the Joomla installer are CHMODed to 600 but reuire 644 to display the images/logo.

This problem with CHMODed files only occurs on Freeola based installations, I have successfully installed many versions of Joomla onto at least 10 different hosting companies, and have never had a problem only with Freeola servers.

MY QUESTION IS: HOW COME?
What has been changed at Freeola that is changing the permissions of files uploaded with Joomla installer.?

A very frustrating problem that Freeola support insist that is down to Joomla, how can it be if the issue is ONLY apparent on Freeola servers.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, and I thank you for any answers in advance....
Fri 04/11/11 at 11:11
Staff