GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"Mainstream Domination"

The "General Games Chat" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Thu 20/12/01 at 16:05
Regular
Now, I *think* most of us here can be classed as hardcore gamers, or softcore... Whatever, we all play games quite regularly.

I’ve been playing games since I was 3 years old, that’s for 9 years. I consider myself to be well versed in the gaming world and on the whole I know what I’m talking about. I don’t know every in and out because I’m not that obsessed, but I know a fair bit.

One thing that really annoys me though is casual gamers. Fair enough, if you only play games semi-regularly because it doesn’t interest you *that* much, that’s fine, I have no problem with that. What really gets under my skin though, is casual gamers who think they know what they’re talking about.

I was having a conversation with my friend the other day and he asked me what console I was going to get next. I replied the GameCube because it’s got the style of games I’m after and I consider Nintendo to be the best developers in the gaming world. I then asked him the same question. " X-Box" he replied. I asked him why and he said because it had the best games on it and that it was big so that meant it was more powerful and had better graphics.

Now this really, really, REALLY ticked me off. He said that it had the best games, how the hell did he know that? He’d never played them and had probably never even taken the slightest bit of interest in the architecture of the machine. And the answer "It’s big so it’ll have better graphics" annoyed me for two reasons.

1) Size is nothing in the world, let alone the gaming world
2) Better graphics? Does that really matter? Is that what you look for in a game? If so then I don’t think you should be allowed anywhere near women, mate.