GetDotted Domains

Viewing Thread:
"PHP - can't write a new text file in htdocs?"

The "Freeola Customer Forum" forum, which includes Retro Game Reviews, has been archived and is now read-only. You cannot post here or create a new thread or review on this forum.

Fri 30/06/06 at 17:08
Regular
Hi, I hope someone can help me. I need to create a new text file from a php script. At the moment I'm testing things out (as I'm new to Freeola). I've written this simple code:

<?
//write a small file
$myFile = "testFile.txt";
$fh = fopen($myFile, 'w') or die(":\nCan't open file");

$stringData = "line 1\n";
fwrite($fh, $stringData);
$stringData = "line 2\n";
fclose($fh);
?>

But when I run it I get an error message:
"Warning: fopen(testFile.txt): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /freeola/users/6/6/sr0405566/htdocs/testing.php on line 4
can't open file"

Am I being stupid here? Can anyone help?

Jo
Sun 02/07/06 at 14:09
Regular
Hi, thanks Garin.

If anyone else has this problem at any time here's a summary of what I did to allow me to create a new file from a php script:

1. Created a new directory inside htdocs, we'll call it 'newDir'.
2. Made sure the permissions on newDir are rwxr-xr-x (by typing 'ls').
(3. If they're not, use the chmod command to change them - 'chmod 755 newDir'.)
4. In my php script I declared my new file as '$myFile = "./newDir/testFile.txt";'.

Then all was hunky-dory.

Jo

PS - does anyone know why the string method for chmod (e.g. chmod u+rwx) doesn't work?
Sat 01/07/06 at 15:47
Regular
"Devil in disguise"
Dr Jo wrote:
> I've checked the permissions for htdocs, and as I'd expect
> they're rwxr-xr-x, which means only the user has write ability
> for the directory. So I don't want to change that. So I still
> don't understand why I can't create a new file from within a
> script.